FG to pay 16 retired Perm Secs N92.44m severance package

 Breaking News

FG to pay 16 retired Perm Secs N92.44m severance package

FG to pay 16 retired Perm Secs N92.44m severance package
November 19
05:05 2015

The Federal Government is to pay N92.4million severance package to the 16 retired Permanent Secretaries following their disengagement from the civil service. A 12-month breakdown of the above shows that each of the Permanent Secretaries will receive 300 per cent of their annual basic salary of N1, 925,865.00 which amounts to N5, 777,595.00 for each of the 16 retired public officers totalling N92,441,520.

Vanguard investigations also revealed that the retired civil servants are to also receive a monthly pension of over N800,000 including allowances, following the fundamental review of the Nigerian pensions system, some categories of top public servants like permanent secretaries, police officers, professors and others, whose conditions of service prior to the enactment of the Pension Reform Act, 2004 allowed them to enjoy 100 per cent of their final pay as pension for life.

The 16 disengaged permanent secretaries are: Godknows Igali, Power; Obinna John Chukwu, FCT; Mrs. Fatima Bamidele, Interior;  Dr Tunji Olaopa, Comm. & Tech; Ezekiel Oyebola Oyemomi, Women Affairs;  Ibikun Odusote Abimbola, OSGF;  Baba Umar Farouk, Mines & Steel Dev;  Dauda Kigbu, Works;  Mrs. Anastasia Mabi Daniel-Nwaobia, Min of Finance; Ossi George Afemefuna, Land, Housing & Urban Dev; Henry Edumudoh Akpan, OSGF.

Others are:  Mr. Taiye Haruna, Petroleum;  Aliyu Ismaila, Defence; Dr. James Obiegbu, Police Affairs; Linus Awute, Health, and Mrs. Nkechi Ejele, Tourism, Culture & National Orientation.

About Author



Related Articles


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment