Fred Amata takes oath as DGN president

 Breaking News

Fred Amata takes oath as DGN president

Fred Amata takes oath as DGN president
April 11
06:28 2016

At a time when Nollywood is in search of plausible frontiers, activities leading to the inauguration of new executives of the Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), presented an exemplary transition which may enjoy positive references for a long while.

As popular actor and director, Fred Amata, was being sworn in as President of DGN, at Ojez Lounge, National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos, last Friday, not only did the presence of the top-notch players in the film industry reflect the respect bestowed on his person and the association, his predecessor’s repertoire of transferred documentation received award-winner’s applause from all.

Anchored by pioneer president of the Guild, Mathias Obahiagbon, who was head of the inauguration committee, the ceremony started, after some preambles, with a valedictory speech by outgoing president, Andy Amenechi, who chronicled the achievements of his administration to include the establishment of an effective banking system, creation of members’ database and capacity building initiatives.

“We have run a race and set the pace. It is now time for someone else to take up our place to continue and improve our modest milestones,” Amenechi said.

He challenged the incoming exco to brace up to the challenges of new times, saying; “…please be informed that DGN can never be the same again. There is just too much awareness and accountability is the new mantra. Members will ask you questions and you must have plausible and progressive answers.”

Thereafter, Amata took the oath of office, followed by his executives which include Mike Ogunwusi as Vice President; Ugezu Ugor as Secretary; Uchenna Agbo as Assistant Secretary and Oduala Taiwo as P.R.O.

The oath of allegiance was administered by Hon. Babatunde Ogala, a Lagos lawyer and former Chairman, House Committee on Justice, Lagos State House of Assembly.

Before delving into his acceptance speech, Amata urged the DGN Electoral Committee, headed by Fidelis Duker to, as a matter of urgency, conduct elections into the two vacant offices of the Guild: offices of Director of Finance and Provost.

“On Friday, February 26, 2016, in Asaba, DGN did not only elect a new president, DGN initiated a new clarion call, which is ‘DGN Is One,’” Amata said in appreciation of the process that brought him to office.

Recall that Amata, who got the backing of initial co-contender, Dickson Iroegbu, defeated Lancelot Imasuen and Kingsley Omoefe at the elections which took place on February 26, 2016, at the Tourist Garden Hotels and Resort, Asaba, Delta State.

Unlike other elections in the film industry, most of the contenders drank together after the results were announced. The presidential candidates, especially, were seen together in photographs displaying the ‘oneness’ finger sign.

“Motivated by that oneness,” Amata said, as he continued his acceptance speech, “we have been energised, encouraged to have a new president in an election lauded as the freest and fairest election this guild has ever witnessed.

“Today, another Friday, we are here. And I am further motivated by the exclusive assembly of your distinguished presence to witness this event in an atmosphere where no winner, no vanquished was declared. This momentum of unity was further manifested when the newly voted executives sat together in their first ever meeting that produced the mantra of this administration. That mantra is ‘Together We Can’. The ‘Together We Can’ mantra is like the famous words of John F Kennedy ‘Ask Not What Your Guild Can Do For You, Ask What You Can Do For Your Guild.’

“So it’s a challenge to all of us. It is a challenge to you and I to collectively determine our future. I will like to thank the outgoing president, Mr Andy Amenechi, and his sterling executives for raising the bar and establishing standards that have taken DGN forward,” he said.

Also present at the ceremony were prominent members of the DGN Board of Trustees such as Alhaji Sadiq Balewa and Chief Eddie Ugboma. Others are ANTP president, Pa. Ashaolu, TAMPAN president, Dele Odule, former AGN president, Ejike Asiegbu, AMP President, Ralph Nwadike, ANCOP President, Alex Enyengho, CDGN President, Iyen Agbonifo-Obaseki, Franca Brown, Paul Obazele, Lilian Amah-Aluko, Charles Novia, Charles Inojie, Zik Zulu Okafor, Lancelot Imasuen, Yibo Koko, Keppy Bassey Ekpenyong, Kingsley Omoefe, Collins Onwochei, Dj Tee, Tonih Anih and Famous Otakponmwen, among others.

About Author



Related Articles


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment